“Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon” named Best Film in the 14th Cinemalaya

Eddie Garcia and Ai Ai Delas Alas win Best Actor and Actress


CARLO ENCISO CATU’s Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon (Waiting for Sunset) was named Best Film at the 14th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival Awards night held on August 12, 2018 at the CCP Main Theater.

Catu’s film about love, companionship and forgiveness in the twilight years of an unlikely trio — an unmarried couple and the woman’s estranged husband — also won the prizes for Best Production Design (Marielle Hizon), Best Cinematography (Neil Daza), and Best Screenplay (John Carlo Pacala).

Featuring veteran actors Dante Rivero, Menggie Cobarrubias, Perla Bautista in the lead roles, the film was cited “for its general technical excellence, for its powerful ensemble acting by some of the most august names in Philippine cinema, and for its sensitive depiction of decline and decrepitude.”

As Best Film winner, Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon garnered Php350,000, a Balanghai trophy, a post production package worth Php600,000, a Canon camera, and a distribution grant worth Php200,000.The Special Jury Prize went to Pan de Salawal (The Sweet Taste of Salted Bread and Undies) by Che Espiritu, who also won for Best Direction. As Special Jury Prize winner, Pan de Salawal garnered Php100,000, a Balanghai trophy, a Canon camera, and full color-grading from Optima Digital worth Php360,000 for the said award.

Pan de Salawal was lauded “For its vibrancy and vigor, its sense of wonder and poignant humor, and its effective conjuring of a suffering world where miracles are possible.”

Pan de Salawal also earned the Best Original Musical Score award (Len Calvo) and Special Jury citations for the young actors in its cast.

Child actors Miel Espinosa (Pan de Salawal), JM Salvado (Pan de Salawal and Musmos na Sumibol sa Gubat ng Digma), and Kenken Nuyda (Liway and School Service) all earned Special Jury Citations for their outstanding performances.

The Cinemalaya Board of Jurors said that strong performances of children have distinguished a number of movies in this year’s Cinemalaya festival.

The Cinemalaya Board of Jurors made special note of “the particularly strong lineup of movies in the Main Competition” in this year’s Cinemalaya.

It gave Special Jury commendation to Kip Oebanda’s autobiographical film Liway that told the story of Oebanda’s life as a child living with his parents, rebels detained inside a military camp. As Special Jury winner, Liway received Php100,000, a Balanghai trophy, a Canon camera and full color-grading from Optima Digital worth Php360,000.

The Jury praised the film “for its timely subject matter and for its writer-director who courageously opened himself up to share with others his very revealing past.”

Liway bagged the Audience Choice award in the Full Length Feature category. For being the Audience Choice award, the said film earned Php75,000 and a certificate.

Award winning actor Eddie Garcia was honored with the Best Actor award for his role in Benedict Mique’s ML. Garcia was applauded by the jury “for his wickedly frightening portrayal—himself embodying the horrors of a dark past.”

Actress, host and comedian Ai Ai Delas Alas garnered the Best Actress award for her role in Luisito Ignacio’s School Service. She was lauded “for her very realistic portrayal of a hateful woman trying to retain a modicum of humanity in her.”

Therese Malvar tied with herself for the Best Supporting Actress award for her performances in two films, School Service and Percival Intalan’s Distance, while Ketchup Eusebio won the Best Supporting Actor for his role in Denise O’Hara’s Mamang.

The Best Editing award went to ML (Mikael Pestano) while Best Sound went to Wild Sound for its work in Iar Lionel Arondaing’s Musmos Na Sumibol Sa Gubat Ng Digma (Unless the Water is Safer than the Land).

In the short feature category, Carlo Francisco Manatad’s Jodilerks De La Cruz, Employee of the Month was named Best Film while Special Jury Prize went to Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah by Xeph Suarez, who also won for Best Direction. Best Short Film winner Jodilerks De La Cruz, Employee of the Month won Php150,000 cash award, the Cinemalaya Balanghai trophy, a Canon camera, and full color-grading services from Optima Digital worth Php360,000. As Special Jury Prize winner, Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah earned Php50,000 and a Balanghai trophy.

The Audience Choice Award went to Kiko by Jojo Driz and the Best Screenplay award went to Christian Candelaria for Sa Saiyang Isla (In His Island). The short feature film Kiko garnered Php50,000 and a certificate.

For the Nespresso Vertical Shorts 2018 Competition, the Best Film went to SLN by Brian Spencer Reyes. First and second runners up were Braveheart by Kevin Tuazon and Ako by Jonel Revistual, respectively. The said films won cash prizes and Nespresso coffee machines.

Now on its 14th year, Cinemalaya has supported and promoted the production of full feature independent films and short films. Many of these films have won awards in local and international competitions and festivals.

Through the annual festival, Cinemalaya has showcased over 1,000 works by independent filmmakers including full feature films, shorts, documentaries, Filipino film classics, and art films.

Cinemalaya this year was held at the CCP and in selected Ayala Malls cinemas.

Cinemalaya is a project of the Cinemalaya Foundation and the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

Established in 2005, Cinemalaya is an all-digital film festival and competition that aims to discover, encourage and honor cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers.

For more information about Cinemalaya, visit http://www.cinemalaya.org, http://www.culturalcenter.gov.ph and the Cinemalaya Facebook page or CCP Media Arts at telephone number 832-1125 local 1704 & 1712 and the CCP Box Office at 832-3704.


Wanna leave a reply?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: